Strenghten human rights and ethics in science

The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences engage in different ways in the areas of human rights and ethics.
 

Protection of the human rights of scientists

The «Delegate for Human Rights» of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences works at the interface between science and human rights. Martina Caroni, Chair in International, Constitutional and Comparative Law at the University of Lucerne executes this function since 2017. The Delegate takes appropriate action in cases of violations of the human rights of scholars due to their scientific work and she promotes the pertinence of human rights in science. The Delegate seeks cooperation with partners nationally (e.g. Scholars at Risk Swiss Section) and internationally (e.g. International Human Rights Network of Academies and Scholarly Societies).
 

Academic freedom

Academic freedom is a core principle that is critical for the conduct of science and its progress. It encompasses the engagement in scholarly practices and the exchange of scientific ideas without interference or suppression. Although guaranteed in several national constitutions and internationally, the rights associated with academic freedom are increasingly being encroached upon in recent years in different places and different ways. Seriously concerned about this tendency, the international conference  «Academic freedom: a universal right at stake!?» in December 2017 (Programme) addressed its implications at individual and institutional level as well as possible countermeasures.
 

Human right to science

Scientists are entitled to human rights – but people also have a right to scientific progress and its applications. The international conference in May 2015 (programme) addressed «The Human Right to Science» by taking the example of seed science and seed policy. Keynote speaker was Farida Shaheed, Special Rapporteur of the UN in the Field of Cultural Rights. Further documents:


 

Ethical and legal responsibility in international research

Internationally active researchers can be confronted with difficult ethical and legal questions – for example when cooperating with politically corrupt local structures, when working on projects funded from doubtful financial resources or when collaborating with researchers in countries imposed to international sanctions. Based on a report of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, this workshop in April 2016 (programme) addressed the responsibility by means of specific case examples.
 

Private funding in science

The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences had the lead in drafting the statement of the All European Academies (ALLEA) on private funding in the scientific enterprise (2015) as part of their engagement in the ALLEA Working Group «Science and Ethics». This contribution was based on insights from the workshop «Das Spannungsverhältnis von Wissenschaft und Industrie am Beispiel des Sponsoring von Lehrstühlen» that the Swiss Academies held in 2012.
 

Members of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

Centres of Excellence

Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
House of Academies
Laupenstrasse 7
P.O. Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

Phone +41 (0)31 306 92 20
info@swiss-academies.ch

Menschenrechte und Ethik in der Wissenschaft stärken

Die Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz engagieren sich auf verschiedene Weise in den Bereichen Menschenrechte und Ethik.
 

Schutz der Menschenrechte von Forschenden

Die «Delegierte für Menschenrechte» der Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz arbeitet an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Menschenrechten. Martina Caroni, Professorin für öffentliches Recht, Völkerrecht und Rechtsvergleichung im öffentlichen Recht an der Universität Luzern übt diese Funktion seit 2017 aus. Die Delegierte ergreift geeignete Massnahmen bei der Verletzung der Menschenrechte von Forschenden aufgrund von deren wissenschaftlicher Tätigkeit und sie fördert die Bedeutung der Menschenrechte in der Wissenschaft. Die Umsetzung erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern national (z.B. Scholars at Risk Schweizer Sektion) und international (z.B. International Human Rights Network of Academies and Scholarly Societies).
 

Akademische Freiheit

Akademische Freiheit ist ein für die wissenschaftliche Arbeit und ihre Entwicklung entscheidendes Grundprinzip. Es umfasst das Engagement in wissenschaftlicher Praxis und den Austausch wissenschaftlicher Ideen ohne Einschränkung oder Unterdrückung. Trotz Gewährleistung in vielen nationalen Verfassungen und international wird in jüngerer Vergangenheit an verschiedenen Orten und auf unterschiedliche Weise zusehends in die mit akademischer Freiheit verbundenen Rechte eingegriffen. Ernsthaft besorgt ob dieser Tendenz thematisierte die internationale Konferenz «Academic freedom: a universal right at stake!?» im Dezember 2017 (Programm) die Konsequenzen auf individueller und institutioneller Ebene sowie mögliche Gegensteuer.
 

Human right to science

Wissenschafter haben ein Recht auf Menschenrechte – aber Menschen haben auch ein Recht auf wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und deren Anwendungen. Diese internationale Konferenz im Mai 2015 (Programm) thematisierte «The Human Right to Science» am Beispiel von Saatgutforschung und -politik. Hauptreferentin war Farida Shaheed, die Sonderberichterstatterin der UNO zu kulturellen Rechten. Weitere Unterlagen:
 

Ethische und rechtliche Verantwortung in internationaler Forschung

International tätige Forschende können mit schwierigen ethischen oder juristischen Fragen konfrontiert werden – etwa bei der Zusammenarbeit mit korrupten politischen Strukturen vor Ort, bei der Mitarbeit an aus zweifelhaften Ressourcen finanzierten Projekten oder bei der Zusammenarbeit mit Forschenden in mit internationalen Sanktionen belegten Ländern. Ausgehend von einem Bericht der niederländischen Akademie der Wissenschaften thematisierte der Workshop im April 2016 (Programm) Verantwortung anhand konkreter Fallbeispiele.
 

Private Finanzierung in der Wissenschaft

Die Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz waren federführend beim Statement der All European Academies (ALLEA) zu privater Finanzierung im Wissenschaftsbetrieb (2015) im Rahmen ihres Engagements in der ALLEA-Arbeitsgruppe «Science and Ethics». Dieser Beitrag basierte auf Erkenntnissen des Workshops «Das Spannungsverhältnis von Wissenschaft und Industrie am Beispiel des Sponsoring von Lehrstühlen», den die Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz 2012 durchgeführt hatten.
 

Mitglieder der Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz

Kompetenzzentren:

Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz
Haus der Akademien
Laupenstrasse 7
Postfach
CH-3001 Bern

Tel +41 (0)31 306 92 20
info@akademien-schweiz.ch

> Datenschutzbestimmungen